You must be logged in to participate in this discussion. Please Login or Register
RZ3: SL32 Thermistor
Posted by hazmat on 5/20/2012 at 5:51 PM

hazmat
Doing some troubleshooting on my generator and found this site- unfortunately the simple fix didn't help - there were no burnt traces, the board looked fine. There was some browning of the PCB near RZ3, which is an NTC (Negative Temperature Constant) Thermistor- After removing, checking, and re-soldering the relays, finding nothing, I started looking elsewhere.  I measured the voltage across RZ3 and found it to be about 7V- according to the specs on the Ametherm website, this is *way* too much voltage across this component- I believe it has failed.

FYI: I am an electrical engineer and I work with high voltages/current everyday. THIS IS NOT FOR THE AVERAGE USER: I shorted RZ3 and the generating light came on. I believe that the thermistor has failed. On my board, this is labeled SR32 2R025.  I found this at Digi-Key: <http://search.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?WT.z_header=search_go&lang=en&site=us&keywords=SL32+2R025&x=0&y=0> at $2.69 ea (qty 1).  After shorting this out, the current read about 4.25A (a little low, but my short isn't perfect).

This is a safety related component- BE VERY CAREFUL. In fact, if you find this problem, just replace the board. However, if you don't care about the safety (or lives) of those that swim in your pool, and want to save a few hundred dollars, this information might prove interesting.
Posted by Loni on 5/20/2012 at 7:34 PM

Loni
Shorting it, jumping it, whatever, IS a safety issue that I too would NOT recommend. As you are an electrical engineer I am confused why you chose NOT to replace the part. You had to have gotten some experience at component-level replacement in the early stages of your education, no? Is it the shipping/handling or minimums? I'll ship you one for 6.50, if that's the case! 
Posted by hazmat on 5/20/2012 at 10:29 PM

hazmat